Oven Roasted Radishes

If you like roasted root vegetables like turnips and beets, you’ll love roasted radishes.  I had never eaten a radish that was cooked, so I was intrigued when I started seeing recipes for roasted radishes popping up everywhere.  The roasting gives them a sweet, earthy flavor and takes away their bite completely.  Try it!

  • 2 bunches of radishes- I used about 15 plain old red radishes
  • 2 t. olive oil
  • coarse salt
  • lemon wedge

Heat the oven to 400 degrees.  Scrub the radishes and chop off the green tops.  Cut each radish in half vertically.  Toss the radishes with the olive oil and lay them cut-side down on the pan.  Sprinkle liberally with coarse salt.  Roast for about 15 minutes, tossing them about halfway through.  They will take on a caramel brown color at the edges.  Squeeze a lemon wedge over them and serve.

 

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two children, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Healthier Options, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oven Roasted Radishes

  1. The radishes look so pretty. It’s spring finally, so I have noticed more and more varieties of radishes at the farmer’s market. I just posted on black radishes (they are spicy).

    • Carrie says:

      Yes, the market is brimming with radishes right now. Spring is here! Thanks for the comment- I’ll take a look at your black radishes asap.

  2. RON TALARICO says:

    The roasted radishes were great and fun! And you were right about the generous salt; I was very generous and found I continually wanted ever more salt…odd but delicious. Thanks!

Leave a comment