Mini Raspberry Pies

The window of time for picking raspberries in our backyard is so small.  Whenever I pick them I feel like I have to do something special with them.  These four mini pies were made from one pint basket of freshly picked raspberries.

  • 1 round prepared pie crust, cut into fourths
  • 1 pint fresh raspberries, about two cups
  • 1 1/2 t. cornstarch
  • 1 T. water
  • 1/2 C. sugar, plus more for sprinkling
  • 1/2 t. almond extract
  • 1 pinch, salt

Cut the pie crust into four circles and set aside the trimmings.  Press the circles into a muffin tin to create cups.  Heat the oven to 375 degrees.  In a bowl, whisk the cornstarch and water until smooth.  Add the berries, sugar, almond extract, and salt.  Toss to combine.  Divide the berry mixture evenly among the four cups.  Use the trimmings to create lattice tops.

Sprinkle the tops with a little sugar.  Bake for about 25 minutes, or until the juices are bubbling with slow-bursting bubbles.  Allow the pies to cool completely before removing them from the pan.  Use a flexible, thin knife to run around the edges of the pies and gently lift them out.

 

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two children, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mini Raspberry Pies

  1. this looks like a great dessert recipe for entertaining! especially with a side of vanilla ice cream. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Mini Key Lime Cheesecakes | swellkid

  3. Pingback: Happy Pi Day | swellkid

Leave a comment