Candied Bacon

I know, right?  The perfect combination of sweet and salty!  This was great on our breakfast table.  If there had been any left I would have used it to dress up some green beans or a bitter green salad…

  • 1 lb. good quality bacon
  • 1/4 C. real maple syrup

Heat the broiler to high- mine goes up to 500 degrees. Lay the bacon out on a rack that is set into a rimmed baking sheet.  Use a pastry brush to brush the maple syrup on the bacon.

Broil for three minutes.  Remove the pan from the oven, flip the bacon over and brush with more syrup.  Return the pan to the oven and broil for another 2-3 minutes or until the bacon is caramelized with some tasty charred edges.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Candied Bacon

  1. bacon & maple syrup… are you sure you’re not canadian? 😉

  2. Jim Cox says:

    Carrie,

    What I great way to eat bacon…we know. Another way we have prepared this dish is to use brown sugar, instead of maple syrup, with a sprinkle of red pepper flakes to give it a little kick. The brown sugar carmelizes into ooey gooey goodness. Be sure to use parchment paper as the brown sugar will caramelize on the sheet and be almost impossible to clean without a paint scraper.

    J.

Leave a Reply

