Harvest Moon Pies

Who doesn’t love an ice cream sandwich?  These pumpkin and spice moon pies are the perfect treat for fall.  Thanks to my husband Harley for the catchy title.

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 C. brown sugar
  • 1 C. vegetable oil
  • 2 C. canned pumpkin,
  • 1 t. cinnamon
  • 1 t. ground ginger
  • 1/4 t. ground cloves
  • 1 t. baking powder
  • 1 t. baking soda
  • 1 t. salt
  • 1 t. maple extract
  • 3 c. flour
  • ice cream for filling

Beat eggs, brown sugar, and oil until smooth.  Add the pumpkin, spices, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and maple extract.  Add the flour a little bit at a time.  Drop scoops of batter onto a parchment lined baking sheet.  Smooth them out into rounds.

Bake at 350 degrees for 12-14 minutes or until the tops are set.  Cool completely on a wire rack.  Let the ice cream soften for about twenty minutes.  Spread about 1/4 C. of ice cream in between each pumpkin cake.  Wrap in waxed paper and freeze for at least an hour before serving.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two children, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Harvest Moon Pies

  1. judy says:

    Wow Carrie, these look amazing! And good job on the name Harley!

  2. Too cool and you know they have such fun ice cream flavors in the fall. Hmm, wait I haven’t even perused the flavors recently, will do that soon!

Leave a comment