Fresh Tomato Pesto

When the tomatoes are ripe and get that intense flavor of summer I love to come up with different uses for them.  This is an uncooked sauce that can be tossed with any type of pasta.  We used it for spaghetti.  It has a brightness from the fresh tomatoes and basil and a rich nuttiness from the walnuts.  Great for all ages!

  • 3/4 C. basil leaves, plus more for garnish
  • 1/8 C. olive oil
  • 2 T. parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 C. walnuts
  • 4-5 small, ripe tomatoes, I used plum tomatoes
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1/2 t. salt

Combine all ingredients in the food processor and pulse until smooth.  Cook 1 lb. of pasta according to the package directions.  Toss the pesto with the hot pasta and serve with more cheese and chopped basil.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Italian, Quick Dinners, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fresh Tomato Pesto

  1. amospmccan says:

    Can’t wait to try this!

  2. Donna Shoemaker says:

    I am making pasta for 10, should I double or triple this?

    >

    • This recipe makes sauce for one pound of pasta, which should be enough to feed four or five as a main course. Unless you are feeding lots of big eaters, you should be fine doubling it. Let me know how you like it!

Leave a Reply

