Easy Roasted Cherry Tomato Sauce

IMG_0289

August in Portland usually means everyone with a garden is trying to do two things: give away tomatoes and zucchini, and think of other things to make than Caprese salad and zucchini bread. My wonderful neighbor Jenny had an abundance of cherry tomatoes and I was happy to take them off her hands. This is a super-duper easy to make sauce since there is no peeling or seeding required.  It would also be great with some fresh herbs added in to the blender.  I opted for no herbs since my 5-year-old would say,”There’s green stuff in here, I don’t like the green stuff.” Makes one generous cup of sauce (about the size of an 8 oz. can) but this could very easily be doubled and then blended in batches.

  • 3-4 C. cherry tomatoes, or any type of tomato (cut larger ones into chunks)
  • 1/2 yellow onion, cut into chunks
  • 2 garlic cloves, no need to peel
  • 1 T. olive oil
  • salt and pepper

Heat the oven to 450 degrees. Scatter the tomatoes, onions, and garlic onto a rimmed baking sheet. Drizzle with the oil and then season with salt and pepper. Roast for 15 minutes then reduce the heat to 375 degrees for another 20 minutes, or until the onions are very soft and beginning to caramelize.  Pop the garlic out of their skins and discard the skins. Scrape the whole pan, juices and all, into the blender. Blend for about one minute or until the sauce is as smooth as you can get it. If it seems too thick, add warm water a teaspoon or two at a time. Toss with your favorite pasta and enjoy!

IMG_0292     IMG_0297

*Note: I have not created this recipe as a canning safe recipe, it is intended to use or freeze in a day or two.

 

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Gluten Free, Healthier Options, Italian, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Easy Roasted Cherry Tomato Sauce

Leave a Reply

