Adobo Corn Soup

IMG_0010

When I have a barbecue I usually end up with leftover corn on the cob.  I always over-estimate the number of cobs I will need, since my kids love it so much.  Last week I had a large party and ended up with about 6 ears of corn and several roasted chicken drumsticks left over as well as half a can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce.  There are a few ingredients that you buy for recipes only occasionally, and then end up with most of a can languishing in your fridge.  Chipotle peppers (smoked jalapeños) in adobo sauce is one of those ingredients.  Tomato paste is another. Most recipes that call for chipotle peppers just call for one or two, since they are fairly spicy.  So, you buy it and then what do you do with all the rest?  I guess you could freeze it, but if you’re like me you will forget that there is a little baggie of frozen chipotle peppers in your freezer somewhere and buy another can when you make a new recipe.  Anyhoo, what a great opportunity to make soup!

  • 1 t. olive oil
  • 4-6 thin slices of bacon, chopped
  • 1 C. diced onion
  • 1 jalapeño, seeded and diced
  • 2 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, diced, plus 1-2 T. of the sauce from the can
  • 4-5 C. cooked corn kernels cut off from the cobs (or use frozen) reserve the cobs
  • 1 can black beans, drained
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 4 C. chicken stock
  • 2 C. diced leftover roasted chicken
  • sour cream, chives, and tortilla chips for optional garnish

Heat the oil in a Dutch oven or soup pot over medium heat.  Fry the bacon and onions until the bacon is crisp.  Add the jalapeño and chipotle peppers and sauce.  Cook until the sauce begins to darken and the jalapeño and onions are soft, about three minutes. Add the corn and beans and season with salt and pepper.  Pour in the chicken stock and leftover chicken and bring to a boil.  Reduce the heat and simmer for about 20-30 minutes with the lid off to concentrate the flavors a bit.  This soup was excellent the second day.  Garnish with sour cream, chives, and tortilla chips.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Healthier Options, Leftovers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Adobo Corn Soup

  1. It looks wonderful! I can smell it from here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

