Breakfast To Go: Overnight Fridge Oatmeal

IMG_1586  IMG_1591

This is one of those ideas that’s been floating around Pinterest a lot lately.  I decided to give it a whirl, mainly because I tend to forget to eat breakfast, or I grab some protein bar on the way out the door if I’m lucky.  Funny thing about moms, we are always so worried about what everyone else is eating: kids need protein in the morning, are they drinking enough water? Yet, we rarely remember to think about ourselves.  My kids are eating these gorgeous protein waffles with fresh strawberries, and I’m scarfing down a Balance Bar on the way to work with my third cup of coffee.  Well, this fridge oatmeal is something I can do for me that is fast and easy, and I can just grab it on my way out the door.  I can even eat it in the car.  Just don’t forget to pack a spoon.  I make these three jars at a time, they last for three days in the fridge, then I have three super healthy weekday breakfasts ready to go.

This recipe is for one jar, so just multiply it by the number of jars you are making.  Don’t worry about measuring, just eyeball it.

  • 2/3 C. raw oats, not quick cooking
  • 2 T. chia seeds
  • 1/2 C. greek yogurt (I use full-fat, honey vanilla. Full fat yogurt will make you feel fuller and more satisfied for longer, hence you will snack less)
  • 1/3 C. nuts or seeds, I use walnuts, ’cause I like ’em
  • 1/4 t. cinnamon
  • 1/2 C. almond milk, or any milk that you like
  • If you use plain yogurt you may want to add a little honey or other sweetener.
  • If you want to make this vegan you can leave out the yogurt, or replace it with some silken tofu and add a bit of sweetener like agave syrup.

Set out your three jars.  Add the oats, chia seeds, yogurt, cinnamon, and nuts to each jar.  Pour in the milk shake it a bit to let it settle if it seems like you can’t get all the milk in the jar.  Screw the lids on tightly and shake vigorously until well combined.  Keep the lids on, and store in the fridge overnight or up to three days.  In the morning the oats will have swelled, the chia seeds turn delightfully chewy, and the whole thing is sort of like eating a delicious, cold and creamy tapioca pudding.  The possibilities are endless.  Swap out the nuts for sunflower seeds, add some peanut butter or cocoa powder, add some blueberries, or sliced bananas.  Spend five minutes on yourself in the evening to make your morning that much better!

 

 

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Healthier Options, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Breakfast To Go: Overnight Fridge Oatmeal

  1. Karen Cowan says:

    What a great idea! And it sounds do tasty with quite a variety of choices!

Leave a Reply

