Spicy Pork And Mustard Green Soup

IMG_1257

I just finished eating this.  It was so good that I wanted to share it right away.  I am lazy lately and have been just cooking out of magazines instead of coming up with my own recipes.  So, sorry Blog Police, I made this almost exactly as written from Bon Appetit.  SO good and easy and quick. My husband and I were literally drinking the last of the broth right out of the bowl.

  • 1 lb. ground pork
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 t. grated fresh ginger
  • 1/2 t. cracked black pepper
  • 1/2 t. red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 t. ground cumin
  • 1 T. canola oil
  • salt
  • 4 C. good chicken stock (I would have liked more broth, next time I will use 5 C. )
  • 4 C. mustard greens, leaves torn into bite sized pieces
  • 4 green onions, sliced thinly
  • 2 T. soy sauce
  • 1 t. fish sauce
  • 8 oz. wide rice noodles, like for pad thai
  • Sriracha for serving

In a bowl, mix the pork with the garlic, ginger, pepper, pepper flakes, and cumin.  Heat the oil in a soup pot over medium heat.  Add the pork mixture and brown it, stirring occasionally for about 6-8 minutes.  Meanwhile, start cooking your noodles according to the package directions.  Add the broth to the soup pot and bring to a boil.  Let the meat and broth boil for about five minutes.  Add the greens, onions, soy sauce, and fish sauce, and stir to combine.  Reduce the heat a bit and let the mixture simmer until the greens are soft, about five minutes.  Taste for seasoning and add salt if necessary.  Drain the cooked noodles and portion them into four shallow bowls.  Ladle the soup over the noodles.  Pass Sriracha around the table for those who like it spicier.

 

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Asian, Gluten Free, Healthier Options, Quick Dinners and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

