Tomato Tart

The women in my family have been making a wonderful tomato tart for as long as I can remember.  It has a biscuit crust, a fragrant tomato-basil filling, and a creamy, tangy cheesy topping.  This is my updated version which takes much less time and tastes just as great.

  • 1 rectangle of prepared puff pastry, defrosted (I used Pepperidge Farm)
  • 5-6 medium tomatoes, I used San Marzanos
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 large handful of fresh basil leaves
  • 1/2 C. grated Swiss cheese
  • 1/2 C. grated Cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 C. mayonnaise
  • 1 T. minced fresh basil

Defrost the puff pastry on the countertop and roll it so it’s a little thinner and larger.  Lay it on a rimmed baking sheet.  Slice the tomatoes into 1/4 inch slices and arrange them in the center of the puff pastry sheet.  Place the basil leaves in between the tomatoes at regular intervals.  Fold the edges of the pastry up and over the tomatoes.  Sprinkle with coarse salt and pepper.

  

In a bowl, combine the cheeses, mayonnaise, and minced basil.  Spread the cheese mixture over the top of the tomatoes.  Bake at 400 degrees for about 25 minutes, or until the cheese is melted and beginning to bubble, and the pastry is golden brown.  Let cool for about ten minutes before cutting.

  

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Quick Dinners, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

