Butterscotch Pudding with Caramelized Bananas

IMG_0496

I was inspired to make this after tasting the Caramelized Banana Ice Cream at our neighborhood ice cream parlor, Cloud City Ice Cream. If you’ve never been, I really encourage you to go (no reason to make the trek to Salt and Straw and wait in line for 30 minutes).  Cloud City is run by a local family and they make all of their own ice cream in-house.  With flavors like Honey-Lavender, and Coffee Granita, how could you go wrong?  They also have a large amount of non-dairy flavors that are out-of-this-world.  Anyhoo, I tried the Caramelized Banana and it reminded me of Bananas Foster, which I love.  Long story short: Ice cream reminded me of dessert, inspired pudding.  Serves 4-6.

  • 4 T. butter, divided
  • 1/2 C. brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 C. heavy cream
  • 1 1/2 C. milk, I used 2%
  • Generous pinch of coarse salt
  • 3 T. cornstarch
  • 3 T. water
  • 2 bananas, sliced into rounds
  • 2 t. rum or vanilla
  • grated nutmeg

In a heavy bottomed saucepan, melt the 3 T. of butter over medium heat.  Add all but 1 T. of the brown sugar and stir to combine.  When the sugar is melted and bubbly, slowly add the cream and stir until the sugar is dissolved.  Stir in the milk and salt and bring to a simmer.  In a small bowl, whisk the cornstarch and water into a smooth paste.  Whisk it into the simmering milk mixture.  Whisk and simmer for two minutes, until the mixture thickens, being careful not to scorch the bottom.  Remove from heat and set aside.

In a nonstick skillet over medium heat, melt the remaining T. of butter and sprinkle 1 T. of brown sugar over it.  Add the bananas and stir gently so they don’t get mashed.  Add the rum or vanilla and bring to a bubble.  Fold the banana mixture into the pudding gently.  Divide the pudding into four large or 6 small ramekins and garnish with a bit of grated nutmeg.  Serve warm or chilled.  The banana flavor is more intense when they are chilled.

 
About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Dessert, Gluten Free and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Butterscotch Pudding with Caramelized Bananas

  1. This could be my favorite as I love Banana Foster too!

  2. Pingback: Mini Key Lime Cheesecakes | swellkid

Leave a Reply

