Almond Vinaigrette

IMG_0235

I get so tired of vinaigrette.  My standby is just olive oil, balsamic, salt and pepper.  Sometimes I add a little mustard for creaminess.  It’s boring, but we all know we are supposed to eat salad so I just keep making it.  I came across this recipe in Lydia Bastianich’s book Lydia’s Italian American Kitchen.  This is a great book by the way.  One great recipe after another.  She toasts sliced almonds and adds them into the blender with the vinaigrette.  Out comes a thick, rich, creamy dressing that could almost double as a dip for crudite.  It’s even vegan.  Try this, it is really, really good.

  • 1/4 C. sliced almonds
  • 6 T. olive oil
  • 2 T. red wine vinegar
  • 1 t. honey
  • salt and pepper
  • salad greens

Heat a small skillet over medium heat and toast the almonds.  It just takes a moment for them to begin to brown, so be careful not to burn them.  Let them cool for a minute or two.  Put the almonds, oil, vinegar, and honey in the blender and blend until smooth.  If it’s too thick, add a few drops of water.  Add salt and pepper to taste and serve over salad greens.

 

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Gluten Free, Healthier Options, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Almond Vinaigrette

  1. eclecticlamb says:

    I feel the same way about salad.

  2. Rebecca Mendez says:

    I made this last night and it was on the too-thick side even thought I kept adding water. I used the food processor instead of the blender, do you think it made it seize up? Or maybe I skimped on the oil a little too much. But very tasty!

Leave a Reply

