Creamy Whipped Butternut Squash

IMG_0232

This decadent, creamy side dish is almost like eating a dessert.  I love to pair it with roasted meat or chicken and a tart, tangy salad.  It’s sweet, but not too sweet, creamy and rich, and it’s better for you than mashed potatoes!  If you call them Pinocchio Potatoes your kids might eat them.  I have no idea why we started calling it that, but it worked for a while.  They’re on to me now I’m afraid.

  • 1 butternut squash
  • 2 t. olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/4 C. heavy cream (use milk if you are worried about it)
  • Maldon salt for finishing

Heat the oven to 400 degrees.  Peel the squash with a vegetable peeler, halve it and scoop out the seeds.  Chop the squash into rough cubes.  Toss with the olive oil and spread them out on a rimmed baking sheet.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Roast for about 20 minutes, or until soft and beginning to caramelize around the edges.  Scrape them into the food processor and pour in the cream.  Puree until completely smooth.  Add a bit more cream if it’s too thick.  Finish with a crunchy sprinkling of Maldon flaked salt.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Gluten Free, Uncategorized, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Creamy Whipped Butternut Squash

  1. Brooke says:

    Just had to tell you that I pinned this recipe (among others that I have pinned from your blog) on Pinterest and it is repinned multiple times a day. Totally popular! You rock!!xo

  2. Pingback: Happy Thanksgiving! | swellkid

Leave a Reply

