Warm Barley and Brussels Sprout Salad

IMG_0220

This recipe is adapted from Food Network Magazine.  I get a lot of inspiration from magazines.  I usually read a recipe and then make it my own in one way or another.  In this case I couldn’t find quick cooking barley as the recipe called for, so I cooked a batch of plain-old $1-a-bag barley.  It only takes about an hour to cook and then you can freeze it and reheat as needed.  Their version called for almonds, but I think the pistachios are a great combination with the Brussels sprouts.  Swap out the butter for Earth Balance and you’ve got a lovely vegan main dish.

  • 1 bag of dried barley
  • 1/4 C. shelled pistachios, chopped
  • 1 T. olive oil
  • 1 T. butter
  • 2 C. sliced Brussels sprouts, about 3/4 lb.
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • salt and pepper
  • olive oil as needed

First prepare the barley.  Rinse the barley with cold water.  Put it in a pot, cover it with cold water and bring it to a boil.  Reduce the heat and simmer for about 45 minutes or until chewy, but not mushy.  Drain the remaining water.  You will need about 3 C. of cooked barley for this recipe, so put the rest of it in a freezer bag and freeze it for another use.  Hot cereal?  Soup?  Heat a skillet with the oil and butter over medium heat.  Add the pistachios and toss to coat.  Add the Brussels sprouts and cook for about three minutes, or until they are bright green.  Stir in the lemon zest, 3 C. of cooked barley, the lemon juice and salt and pepper.  Heat through and taste for seasoning.  If the salad seems too dry, add a bit more olive oil.  Serve warm.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Healthier Options, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Warm Barley and Brussels Sprout Salad

  1. I’ve never used barley this way. It looks wonderful!

Leave a Reply

