Happy Blogiversary

IMG_0155

This week swellkid turns 2 years old!  In the last two years I have posted hundreds of recipes and pictures.  I’ve had a lot of great feedback and gained a small following.  Lately I have been contemplating the purpose of my blog and even (gasp) considered not doing it anymore!  Originally the blog was meant to be a place for me to record recipes so that I could go back and recreate dishes we loved, or so that I could pass on recipes to friends more easily.  Blogging is a curious thing.  When a recipe gets a lot of hits, it’s like a couple of hundred little pats on the back for me.  When something doesn’t get many hits, I always wonder why, and those numbers tend to guide my posts.  Over the last two years I have started doing something I don’t care for.  I have started making and posting things that I think will get a lot of hits.  It’s no longer a record of what I make every day, it’s become a showcase of only the best and most impressive things.  That’s not what I want swellkid to be.  I’m wearing myself out trying to impress strangers.  No longer!  As of today I will be posting whatever the heck I feel like posting.  I’m going to stop looking at my stats and keeping track of hits and get back to my original, much more personal blogging intentions.  Take it or leave it.  This is my pledge for 2013, Happy New Year!

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Happy Blogiversary

  1. Monajean rose says:

    HaPpY NeW YeAr, Carrie!
    I am relieved you’ll still be blogging your recipes and ideas. I’ve learned some things from you and cooked great tasting food following your instructions.
    And I feel connected to the great family we dined with in Portland.
    You Go Girl!

  2. Good for you, Carrie! Your blog has been a pleasure for many, especially your family and friends who have been luck enough to have been a part of your delicious recipes.
    This has been fun watching for all your recipes popping up almost daily. Many positive statements from my personal friends who look forward to seeing and trying what is being posted next. Many who may not comment on your blog, but certainly say great things about your recipes. It has been a pleasure for many beyond the hits you have received these past two years.
    Now you can blog when your heart so desires and no pressure.
    Happy Anniversary Swellkid !
    Happy New Year!
    Karen

  3. Angie sabbe says:

    Congrats on two years, Carrie! I enjoy your recipes and have made several of them. I am also always impressed with how nicely you arrange and photograph them.
    Love, Angie

  4. Vicki Graves says:

    Don’t quit! Get back to everyday food so I won’t be intimidated by the fancy recipes!

  5. Good for you! I often wonder why certain things get more or less hits. Often some of my favorite recipes are the lowest — ones I’m sure will become reader favorites. But I just keep posting the things that I want and try not to pay attention to the stats. Happy Anniversary! And Happy Going Back to What You Want to Blog About! 🙂
    Kenley

  6. Congratulations on 2 years, Carrie! I recently found a recipe you gave me for Pizzaiola. I’m looking forward to seeing you post whatever the heck you want to!

  7. Congrats on a wonderful two years.You do make a lot of impressive things. Traffic is a funny thing. We get a lot whenever we post desserts, which we don’t make a lot of. Our weekly cocktail posts, not so popular. But we love doing them. I say do what you love and don’t worry about the rest.

  8. Kelsey says:

    Yay! Please keep posting! I love making your recipes for my family. I enjoy how straightforward [and consistently delicious!] everything is. Congratulations on 2 years 🙂

  9. Brenda says:

    Congratulations on 2 years. Your blog is such a pleasure to read with tempting recipes and your affable style. I’m very much looking forward to reading whatever you feel like posting!

Leave a Reply

