Easy Advent Calendar Garland

I love Christmas!  Today is Thanksgiving and I have been listening to Christmas music on the radio for two weeks already. My favorite thing about Thanksgiving isn’t the food or the time with friends and family.  It’s the fact that I can finally start decorating my house for Christmas.  I don’t have to hide it anymore.  I can come out of the Christmas closet and shamelessly hang lights, trim trees, and deck the halls.  Advent calendars are a great way to count down to Christmas.  Here is an easy, adorable solution.  The bags are filled with tiny toys and stamped with numbers up to 24.  They are then simply attached to a festive silver cord with everyday clothespins.  Each day your child can find the next number and open their little gift.  24 gifts seems like a lot.  We are not talking anything fancy, just little plastic creatures, Japanese erasers, and things like that.

In October I start collecting little toys for the calendar when I see something that will work or something that is on sale.  Lego Minis or individual Playmobil pieces are always a hit.  The bags came from a gorgeous craft store called Collage on SE 13th in Sellwood.  I have two children, so I will put two little toys in each bag.  One more tip:  Hang the bags out of numerical order so that when they are taken off the garland it doesn’t sag one way or the other, or look too empty.  Merry Christmas!

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Holidays and Special Occasions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Easy Advent Calendar Garland

  1. Brennan says:

    This is such a great idea! So much better than the ones with the bad chocolates… The boys must be so excited for December 1st!

Leave a Reply

