Zucchini Snack Cake with Lemon Icing

Zucchini bread is so 2010.

  • 1 stick of salted butter, softened
  • 3/4 C. brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 C. sugar
  • 2 T. canola oil
  • 1 t. vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 C. flour
  • 2 t. baking soda
  • 2 T. milk
  • 1 t. cinnamon
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1/2 t. freshly ground nutmeg
  • 1 zucchini, grated- about 2 C. – I used a box grater
  • 1/4 C. powdered sugar
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • water

Grease a baking dish and preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  I used a 81/2  x 11 pan, though I realize that this is an odd size most people don’t have.  Use whatever pan you have, just be aware that if the pan is bigger it will take less time to bake since the cake won’t be as thick.  If it’s smaller, the cake will be thicker and take more time to bake.  Make sense?  Beat the butter and sugars until soft and fluffy.  Add the oil, vanilla, and eggs and beat to combine.  Add the flour, baking soda, milk, salt and spices.  Beat until smooth.  Stir in the zucchini.  Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for about one hour, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  If the top starts to get too brown, cover it lightly with foil and continue baking.  Allow the cake to cool in the pan.  To make the icing, whisk the powdered sugar and lemon juice until smooth, adding water a drop at a time to thin it to drizzling consistency.  I like to cut the cake into squares and drizzle the icing over each slice so you get that great oozy icing puddling on the plate.  Enjoy!

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Zucchini Snack Cake with Lemon Icing

  1. Harley says:

    Zucchini and lemon. I thought this can’t be a good combination but after trying it, it reminded me of a 30 Rock quote when Jack Donaghy said to Liz Lemon about dating Julianne Moore’s character:
    “She put on red underwear! You’d think it’d clash with her hair, but it didn’t!”

  2. Libby says:

    I agree with Harley…..redheads can wear red underwear, and this cake is delicious!

  3. You guys need to get back to work.

  4. Rebecca Mendez says:

    I made these today (the zucchini vine runneth over). Very delicious! I used my new Pampered chef square pan – love the shape and it baked faster! Thanks for the recipe! I wish I could post a photo here – maybe I can on FB.

Leave a Reply

