Basil Vichyssoise

So I was talking on the phone with my Grandma yesterday and I told her I was making Vichyssoise.  Her response was, “Isn’t that cold potato soup?” Yes.  It is.  I promise it tastes delicious.  This is a refreshing, savory soup for a hot day.  Be sure to make it well ahead, even the day before, to allow it time to get nice and cold.

  • 3 C. yellow potatoes, peeled and thinly sliced
  • 3 C. leeks, white and light green parts, thinly sliced
  • 6 C. chicken or vegetable broth
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 10-12 leaves of fresh basil
  • 1/2 C. cream or half and half
  • chives for garnish

Put the potatoes and leeks in a large stockpot.  Cover with broth and bring to a simmer.  Simmer until the potatoes are tender, about 10 minutes.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  Add the basil leaves and cream.  Puree with an immersion blender.  Strain through a fine mesh sieve.  You may have to press the solids through the sieve, but don’t skip this step- you want velvety-smooth texture here.  Chill thoroughly and serve in chilled bowls with the chives for garnish.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Gluten Free, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Basil Vichyssoise

  1. Looks awesome and we tend to eat fewer potatoes in the summer. This makes me rethink that!

Leave a Reply

