Oven Fried Chicken

I recently spent several days with my mom cooking some of our favorite dishes.  This is one that she has been making for years, and one of my all-time-favorite meals.  In fact, this is the one thing I always request when my mom asks what she should make for dinner.  Oven fried chicken is the perfect dish to serve for a summer pot-luck or party; It’s easy to make, has just a few common ingredients, and it can be made ahead.  Serves 8

  • 6-8 chicken thighs, bone-in, skin-on
  • 6-8 chicken drumsticks
  • 2 C. Bisquick
  • 2 t. salt
  • 1 t. paprika
  • 1 t. black pepper
  • 2 T. butter, melted

Heat the oven to 400 degrees.  Sprinkle the chicken pieces with a pinch of salt.  In a shallow dish, combine the Bisquick, salt, pepper, and paprika.  Pour the melted butter into a rimmed baking sheet.  Dredge the chicken pieces in the Bisquick mixture and place on the prepared baking sheet, skin side down.  Bake for 30 minutes.  Turn all the chicken pieces over and bake for an additional 10-12 minutes, or until golden brown and cooked through.  Serve hot, warm, or room temperature.  Make ahead and refrigerate up to 24 hours.  Reheat in a 350 degree oven for ten minutes or until crisp.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a 1st grade teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oven Fried Chicken

  1. Isn’t it great to revisit recipes from childhood? This chicken looks wonderful.

Leave a Reply

