Easy Chili Colorado

My favorite thing to order in a Mexican restaurant is Chili Colorado. Let me give you a little disclaimer: I am not about authentic here.  I did not soak dried chiles and pound them to a paste.  I didn’t char any peppers over a flame.  I came up with this recipe trying to mimic the rich flavor of my favorite dish at the Iron Horse restaurant in SE Portland.  Tender chunks of beef, simmered in a savory, tomato-based sauce.  I think I came pretty close!  Serve this with warm tortillas and your choice of toppings.

  • 1 T. vegetable oil
  • 2 lbs. beef stew meat, cut into large cubes
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/2 C. flour
  • 1 yellow onion, diced
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 t. cumin
  • 1 t. chili powder
  • 1 t. garlic powder
  • 1 t. onion powder
  • 1/2 t. paprika, not smoked
  • 3 T. tomato paste
  • 2 C. water

Heat a large pot to medium, and add the oil.  Sprinkle the meat with salt and pepper.  Toss the meat with the flour in a plastic bag and brown it in the oil.  You may have to brown the meat in two batches.  Add the onions, garlic, and all the spices.  Stir the meat, onions, and spices to combine.  Turn the heat up to medium-high and add the tomato paste.  Toss and cook to caramelize the tomato paste a bit.  Add the water and scrape all the browned bits off the bottom of the pan.  Cover the pot and reduce the heat to medium-low.  Simmer for an hour stirring occasionally.  Remove the lid and continue to simmer a second hour, stirring every ten minutes or so, adding a little more water if it gets too thick.  The end result will be very tender chunks of meat in a thick, red-brown gravy.  Taste for seasonings.  Serve with tortillas and fresh cilantro.  I love to add a little fresh guacamole too- it couldn’t hurt, there’s omega thingys in avocados right?

 

 

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Easy Chili Colorado

  1. Authentic or not it looks great. And I love me some Mexican.

  2. Karen says:

    I love Mexican food and I don’t think it is necessary to flame roast and grind chilies to have a nice dish. You chili sounds terrific.

  3. Pingback: Cinco De Mayo Recipe Roundup! | swellkid

  4. DC says:

    I has enchilada sauce, Mexican chocolate and peanut butter in it as well. I made for 13 years on at least a daily or weekly basis.

Leave a Reply

