Candied Kumquats

What do you do with them?  I’m not really sure yet, but they taste pretty rad.  These are similar to marmalade in flavor, but they have this sexy succulence to them. I am thinking of using these to go with some grilled chicken or pork chops.  Maybe on top of some vanilla ice cream?  I know I’ll have fun mulling over the possibilities.  Makes about 3 cups

  • 2 lbs. of fresh kumquats
  • 2 1/2 C. superfine sugar
  • 1 C. brown sugar
  • 1 vanilla bean
  • 4 dried allspice berries

Heat a pot of water to boiling and blanch the kumquats for one minute.  Drain them, fill the pot again, bring to a boil and blanch them a second time.  Drain.  In a clean pot, heat the sugars, vanilla bean, and allspice berries with 4 C. water.  Bring to a boil.  Add the kumquats and reduce the heat to a simmer.  Simmer for 45 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Remove the kumquats from the pot with a slotted spoon and place them into clean jars.  Increase the heat to boiling and boil the syrup for ten minutes.  Pour the syrup over the kumquats.  Cool and store in the fridge.  There is a quantity of syrup left over.  I can see using it for pancakes, ice cream, crepes, maybe even as a cocktail syrup?  I’ll keep you posted!

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a 1st grade teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Dessert, Drinks and Cocktails, Gluten Free, Holidays and Special Occasions, Vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Candied Kumquats

  1. These look great. I’m thinking French toast, ice cream, cocktails. Can’t wait to see how you use them.

Leave a Reply

