Pepperoni Chicken Roll Ups

My kids love pizza, but I get a little tired of it sometimes.  I had some chicken tenders in the freezer and the makings for pizza, so I came up with these yummy roll-ups.  Easy, simple, your kids will love these, and the leftovers were even tastier.

  • 1 1/2 lbs. chicken tenders
  • About 30 slices of pepperoni
  • 1 C shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1 1/2 C. tomato sauce, I used Hunts
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 t. olive oil, divided

Place the chicken tenders on a cutting board and pound them lightly to flatten them.  Sprinkle them on both sides with salt and pepper.  Place 2 slices of pepperoni on top of each piece of chicken.  Sprinkle about 2 T. of the cheese on each piece of chicken.

Roll them up and secure with a toothpick.  Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Heat the oil in an oven-proof skillet over medium heat.  Brown the chicken rolls on each side for about two minutes.

Pour the tomato sauce over the chicken, and turn each piece to coat.  Put the whole skillet into the oven and bake for about ten to twelve minutes or until the chicken is cooked through.  Remove the toothpicks and serve.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Gluten Free, Italian, Quick Dinners and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pepperoni Chicken Roll Ups

  1. Simple, tasty and definitely kid-friendly!

Leave a Reply

