Chocolate Cake with Salted Caramel Buttercream

I have become a little obsessed with San Fransisco’s Miette bakery.  Their iconic cakes are always baked in little 6 inch pans, making them delightfully charming to look at, and the perfect size for eating and serving.  My 9 inch cakes have never been eaten in one sitting, leaving leftover cake for days after a party (not always a bad thing).  This six inch size feeds eight people a perfect portion of cake. I have given a link to Miette’s Old Fashioned Chocolate Cake recipe.  It’s dark and delicious and not too sweet.  When I made it I had a hard time getting it out of the pan intact, so I advise caution!  Feel free to use any chocolate cake you like.  The salted caramel buttercream is so good you will want to lick the spatula, and your plate, and your fingers.

Two 6 inch chocolate cakes, cooled.  (a cake mix will make 2 6 inch cakes plus about ten cupcakes)

Salted Caramel Buttercream:

  • 1 C. butter, softened
  • 1 t. kosher salt
  • 1 C. jarred caramel sauce, I used Mrs. Richardson’s.
  • 1 t. vanilla
  • 3 1/2 to 4 C. powdered sugar
  • flaked salt for the top

Whip the butter and salt until fluffy and pale, about 2 minutes.  Blend in the caramel and vanilla.  Add the powdered sugar a little at a time.  Continue adding the sugar until the frosting is spreading consistency.  I used about 3 and 1/2 C. of powdered sugar and mine was a little to soft.  Next time I make it I would add a little more sugar to stiffen it.

To assemble the cake, use a serrated knife to split each cake into two layers.  Place one layer on the serving plate or cake pedestal.  Put the frosting into a piping bag (or Squeeze it Decorator) fitted with a large star tip. Pipe the frosting in a tight spiral to cover the top of the cut side of the layer.  Gently stack the next layer and repeat with a spiral of frosting.  Repeat until the four layers have been stacked.  Pipe a tight spiral on the top of the cake and use an offset spatula to smooth the top in a circular motion.  Finish the cake with a sprinkling of flaked salt.  Store the cake in the fridge until just before serving.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Dessert, Holidays and Special Occasions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Chocolate Cake with Salted Caramel Buttercream

  1. Chris macca says:

    What I want to know is who were the eight lucky people to be served this great cake?

  2. This was my contribution to the Shu Ren Gala dinner and auction on Saturday. A table of strangers bid on it- they seemed to enjoy it and it raised a few hundred $ for the Mandarin Immersion Program!

  3. diane timonen says:

    Oh Carrie…That looks so GOOD!!! Yum Yum Yum… Are you getting excited for some fun this summer for the IDOL concert? Can’t wait..

  4. Looks beautiful!! And salted caramel buttercream…I can’t even imagine! Yum.

  5. Pingback: Chocolate and Love, Love and Chocolate | swellkid

Leave a Reply

