Easter Basket Coconut Cupcakes (Shhh, they’re vegan)

I was inspired to make these by a picture I saw from Bakerella.  Some of my family members are vegan so when we all get together for holidays I like to make things that everyone likes and wants to eat.  This poses a bit of a problem sometimes, but I like to think of it as a sort of challenge.  Could I make a vegan cupcake that the omnivores will want to eat?  Vegan baked goods have a bad reputation, but I have found them to be almost always as delicious as their ovo-lacto counterparts.  I promise you, no one will know these are vegan unless you tell them!  There are many online sources for vegan candy as well.  Thanks to my super-cool cousin Chanterelle, one list I refer to often is PetaKids.  Makes 12.

For the cakes

  • 1 3/4 C. flour
  • 1 C. bakers, superfine sugar
  • 1 t. baking powder
  • 1 t. baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 C. thick coconut milk (imported Thai coconut milk is usually thicker)
  • 1/2 C. solid coconut oil, I found it at New Seasons
  • 1 T. canola oil
  • 1 T. vanilla
  • 1 T. white vinegar
  • 1/4 C. water

For the frosting

  • 1 C. solid coconut oil, beaten smooth
  • 2 1/2 C. powdered sugar
  • 3 T. coconut milk
  • 1 t. coconut extract

For the decorations

  • 2 C. shaved or shredded coconut
  • 2-4 drops of green food coloring
  • pipe cleaners for handles
  • Assorted candies

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Combine all ingredients in a standing mixture until smooth.  Batter will be thick and lumpy.  Line a cupcake pan with paper liners.  Divide the batter equally among the 12 cups.  Bake for about 17 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.  Cool.  Combine the frosting ingredients with a drop or two of green food coloring, beat until smooth.  Place the coconut in a plastic bag with one or two drops of food coloring and shake until the color is uniform.  Frost the cupcakes then roll the tops in the coconut to coat.  Bend the pipe cleaners into a “U” shape and insert into the cakes.  Use little dabs of frosting to adhere the candies to the tops.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Dessert, Holidays and Special Occasions and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Easter Basket Coconut Cupcakes (Shhh, they’re vegan)

  1. So cute! And that kid is pretty cute too!
    Grandma Karen

  2. Chanterelle says:

    Thanks Carrie, I have some pretty cool cousins myself 🙂 These look amazing! I might have to make them.

  3. Pingback: Easter Recipe Round Up | swellkid

Leave a Reply

