Top Secret Blueberry Smoothie

Notice the appealing purple color? Not a trace of green in sight!

I know, everybody makes smoothies and no one really needs a recipe.  But did you know that you could get your kids to happily eat handfuls of raw spinach several times a week?  The trick is to disguise the spinach with frozen blueberries. The color of the berries disguises the spinach and freezing them eliminates the need for using any ice.  In my opinion, smoothies made with ice taste watery and grainy.  Using frozen fruit creates a creamy, frozen yogurt-like texture that is irresistible.  If your kids eat tons of fresh greens, by all means, delete this post.  If you are tired of scraping uneaten veggies off of their dinner plates, read on!  Serves 2

  • 1 C. frozen blueberries
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1 container of fruit-flavored yogurt
  • 1 C. fresh spinach leaves, packed
  • 1/2-1 C. apple juice or other fruit juice

Place the berries, banana, yogurt, spinach leaves, and 1/2 C. of juice in the blender.  Blend on high until smooth, adding a little more juice if it needs to be thinned.  Be sure to let the blender run for at least a full minute to achieve a uniformly smooth texture.

 

 

 

 

 

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Drinks and Cocktails, Gluten Free, Healthier Options and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Top Secret Blueberry Smoothie

  1. Chris macca says:

    Mmmm… I’ll take one.

  2. Kathy says:

    This is brilliant! I’m going to share this with my WIC co-workers for our clients.

  3. Pingback: Help Me Decide What to Publish on Woman’s Day.com | swellkid

Leave a Reply

