Creamed Spinach with Bacon

In the tradition of any great American steakhouse, I give you creamed spinach.  A blissful, succulent side dish to any meat course.  Of course it’s very rich, so a little goes a long way.

  • 3 slices of bacon
  • 1 T. butter
  • 2 T. flour
  • 1 C. milk
  • 1/2 C. cream
  • 3-4 C. packed fresh spinach leaves
  • salt and pepper

Heat a skillet over medium heat and cook the bacon until crispy.  Remove the bacon to a plate.  Pour out all but 1 T. of the bacon grease.  Add the butter to the skillet and melt it.  When it foams whisk in the flour.  Cook and whisk until the flour and butter create a paste that turns golden brown, about three minutes.  Whisk in the milk and cream slowly.  Simmer until it thickens, about two minutes.  Season with salt and pepper.  Add the spinach and stir until it wilts.  Pour the spinach and cream sauce into a small casserole and sprinkle the top with the crumbled bacon.  Bake at 350 degrees until the cream sauce is bubbling and the edges are beginning to brown, about 15 minutes.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Holidays and Special Occasions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Creamed Spinach with Bacon

  1. I wasn’t sure I would like this . . . and then I devoured it like a dog.

  2. Monajean says:

    “Pass the spinach” will replace “I’ll pass on spinach” once a non-believer in the goodness of this greenie samples this recipe. It is yummy!

Leave a Reply

