Quick Tip: Refreshing Herbs

Have you ever bought fresh herbs for a recipe only to find a day later that they have wilted in the fridge?  It’s frustrating, yes, but don’t throw them out!  Tender herbs like parsley, cilantro, and basil can be revitalized.  The first picture is a bunch of parsley that sat in the fridge for a few days, limp and shriveled.  I cut the ends off with a pair of scissors and put the whole bunch in a glass of tap water.  The second picture is the same bunch about two hours later. The refreshed bunch is lush and perky and ready to be used!  When I pick herbs in my yard I often keep them in a glass on the counter, just like a flower in a vase. They stay fresh for at least a couple of days.  This works extremely well for basil, which tends to brown in the fridge.  No more wasting those expensive herbs!

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quick Tip: Refreshing Herbs

  1. Thanks for sharing the tip… sounds great, now I can do the same! I didn’t know it was that easy, I must admit! 🙂

  2. Great tips. The first thing I do when I get mine home is dry them and rebag them. I just flip the bag inside out. So much water, makes them rot too fast.

Leave a Reply

