Oysters, Two Ways

I am the only one in my house who enjoys oysters.  I love them in all preparations.  So much so, that I couldn’t settle on just one way to cook them.  The first is classic pan-fried.  Crispy on the outside and sizzling with butter.  The second is my variation of Hangtown Fry.  A pan-fried oyster, floating in a cloud of eggs and cream.

Pan Fried Oysters, makes 6

  • 6 small, fresh oysters
  • 1 T. butter
  • 1/2 C. flour
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 pinch cayenne pepper

Melt the butter in a skillet over medium heat.  Toss the oysters in the flour and shake off the excess.  Season the oysters with salt and pepper and cayenne.  Place the oysters in the hot butter and fry for about two minutes per side, until golden brown. Serve hot.

Hangtown “Bake”, makes 6

  • 6 pan-fried oysters (see above directions)
  • butter for the ramekins, about 1/2 T.
  • 6 eggs, divided
  • 1 1/2 C. cream, divided
  • salt and pepper
  • chopped parsley for garnish

Heat the oven to 350 degrees.  Pan fry the oysters as directed above. Butter six ramekins.  Place one fried oyster in each ramekin.  Beat the eggs one at a time with 1/4 C. cream.  Pour the egg and cream into each ramekin.  One egg and 1/4 C. of cream for each ramekin.  Season each ramekin with salt and pepper.  Place the ramekins on a rimmed baking sheet and bake for about 20 minutes, or until set.  Serve hot with a little fresh parsley garnish.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Quick Dinners, Seafood and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oysters, Two Ways

  1. I love me some oysters. I love both of these dishes.

Leave a Reply

