Lemony Barley Salad

Barley is one of those grains I rarely think about.  Lately I have been trying to get more whole grains into our diet.  I am now officially counting barley as a new family favorite.  Not only is barley packed with fiber and iron, when it’s not overcooked it has this appealing chewiness that the kids (and the grownups) loved.  Did I mention it’s packed with fiber and iron?

  • 1 C. pearl barley
  • 1 1/4 C. vegetable broth or chicken broth
  • 1 3/4 C. water
  • 1/4 C. minced onion
  • 1 clove minced garlic
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • 2 T. olive oil
  • 1/4 C. chopped, fresh parsley

In a heavy skillet over medium heat, bring the barley, broth, water, onion, and garlic to a boil.  Reduce the heat to medium low and simmer, uncovered for about 45 minutes, or until all the water has evaporated and the barley is just cooked, but retains a bit of chewiness.  Remove from heat.  Add the lemon juice and olive oil.  Let the mixture cool a bit before adding the parsley.  Serve warm or at room temperature.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Healthier Options, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lemony Barley Salad

  1. Harley says:

    Yep! This is a good one!

  2. If you don’t care for lemon very much what else could you suggest to put in it? I like barley in soups so I’m sure I would enjoy this salad.

  3. What a great side dish. I love lemon anything.

Leave a Reply

