Red Wine Braised Short Ribs

Red Wine Braised Short Ribs

Portion control will be tough with these delectable, melt-in-your-mouth short ribs.  Plan on at least two short ribs per person, or one for kids.

  • 1 C. red wine, I used a juicy Kiona Lemberger
  • ½ C. soy sauce
  • 4 cloves garlic, smashed
  • 2 shallots, sliced thinly
  • 3 stalks of celery, diced
  • 2 carrots, peeled and diced
  • ½ t. black pepper
  • 6 beef short ribs, about 4 inches square
  • 1 lb. baby red potatoes, halved
  • Salt

In a bowl combine the wine, soy sauce, garlic, shallots, celery, carrots, and pepper.  Place the short ribs, bone side up, in a Dutch oven in a single layer.  If you are making more, use two pots.  The ribs need to be sitting in the cooking liquid, so you can’t pile them up.  Pour the wine mixture over the ribs.  Marinate for two hours or overnight.  Heat the oven to 400 degrees and roast the short ribs uncovered for 1 hour. Turn the ribs over.  Reduce the temperature to 350 degrees and continue roasting for another hour.  Reduce the temperature to 325 degrees and add the potatoes to the pot, cover with the lid.  Continue to roast for 30-45 minutes with the lid on.  Remove the pot from the oven and allow the meat to rest without removing the lid for about 15 minutes.  Check the pot throughout the cooking process for dryness.  If the liquid reduces too much add ¼ C. water at a time to keep the meat sitting in the cooking liquid.  To serve, remove the meat to a platter and toss the potatoes in the cooking liquid to coat before removing them to a bowl.  Season the potatoes with salt as needed.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Red Wine Braised Short Ribs

  1. Harley says:

    I would eat this every freaking single day. It’s crazy delicious. Kiona’s Lemberger (Washington State) is the perfect pairing. (I just drooled…)

  2. Am I taking crazy pills or did you say you were in a funk recently? I must be taking crazy pills because your last few posts have really been awesome. I mean they normally are, but you know what I mean.

  3. Kristi says:

    I think you served these to us when we were visiting! They are the best ever!! Hey, you guys coming this way for any part of the holidays? Would love to have you and the kids over for dinner!!

  4. Mmm…that made my stomach growl. Yum.

  5. JJKiona says:

    Tried it over the weekend. Very yummy! We used a bottle of 2007 Lemberger. I was just about ready to cut in and enjoy when I remembered that I needed to take a picture… needless to say, I didn’t take very much time making sure it was a good one!

    Here’s that photo – http://www.freeimagehosting.net/79fc8

    Thanks for sharing.

  6. Erica T. says:

    I’ll be making this on NYE for me and a friend. Brennan says they’re AMAZING…can’t wait! I don’t plan on having any portion control though. 😉

  7. kristina says:

    is there a demi glace recipe that goes with this? thanks in advance! ??:?)

Leave a Reply

