Popcorn Birthday Cake

My son and I saw this cake in Food Network Magazine a while ago and we knew it was the perfect cake for his movie-themed birthday party!  The cake itself can be whatever flavor you like.  Ours is Funfetti!  If you want to go all out you could make the cake from scratch, but a cake mix is fine, especially for a kid party.  I used a 15″ x 11″ cake pan and a classic vanilla buttercream.  For the fondant I used my old standby marshmallow fondant recipe.  Be sure to set aside a couple of tablespoons of frosting to stick the popcorn on.

1 baked 15 x 11 inch cake, cut in half horizontally

For the Buttercream:

  • 2 sticks of salted butter, softened
  • 5-6 C. powdered sugar
  • 2 t. really good vanilla
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • 3 T. milk, divided

Cream the butter with 4 C. of powdered sugar, the vanilla, salt, and 2 T. of the milk.  Continue to whip until the frosting is light and fluffy, adding more sugar to thicken, or more milk to thin it as needed.

For the Fondant:

  • 4 C. mini marshmallows
  • 2 T. water
  • 4-5 C. powdered sugar
  • food coloring drops

2-3 C. popcorn – I used Kettle Corn

Here is a link to the Food Network assembly instructions

Here is a link to the marshmallow fondant instructions

Tips:  I had to use a whole bottle of red food coloring to tint the fondant bright red.  Otherwise it would have been a pink striped popcorn bag.  If I made this cake again I think I would buy the red fondant and make the white.  Why not buy the white too?  You can, but store-bought fondant is why people don’t like to eat fondant.  It tastes terrible.  Homemade marshmallow fondant tastes yummy!  You need  a lot of extra powdered sugar for dusting, to keep the fondant from sticking.  I used a damp pastry brush to clean up the cake and brighten up the red stripes after the whole thing was assembled. This cake can be made the day before, but don’t put it in the fridge.  It will get beads of moisture on it that will ruin the fondant.  The fondant keeps the cake fresh and moist (I hate that word).

The kids loved this cake.  It was fun and tasty.  If you make one, send me a picture and I’ll send you a prize!

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two children, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Popcorn Birthday Cake

  1. Chris macca says:

    It even tasted really good. Do I get a prize?

  2. Kathy says:

    You’ve got to be the funnest mother in the universe! What lucky boys you have!

  3. Okay, so I wanted to see a couple of blogs, and I was choosing between clicking on the link to see yours, or another’s… and I chose yours for some reason.. And I’m SO glad I did because when I saw this cake, I instantly said “OOOH MYY GOODDD I SOO WANT TO MAAKE THAAT!!” because I love making fancy cakes!

    I especially like the fondant recipe, I haven’t made/used fondant before, and all the recipes I’ve come across need weird things in them… Will definitely do this cake at the first change I get!
    Thank you for sharing! I’m subscribing 😀

  4. Janae says:

    Wow!! What an awesome cake!

Leave a comment