Shaved Root Vegetable Salad

The inspiration for this beautiful salad came from two places: The November Bon Appetit, and my new mandolin slicer (I am still really jazzed about it).  Here is my adaptation of this bright, lovely salad.  The slices are so thin there is no cooking required.

  • The juice of 1 orange
  • 1 T. lemon juice
  • 2 T. Grapeseed Oil
  • 1/4 C. shelled, crushed pistachios
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 small golden beet
  • 1 small red beet
  • 1 small turnip
  • 1 large carrot
  • 1 green onion, sliced
  • zest of 1 orange

First make the dressing.  Combine the orange juice, lemon juice, oil, pistachios, and salt and pepper to taste.  Divide the dressing into two bowls, one with 1/4 of the dressing, and one with the rest.  Peel all the veggies and slice them on a mandolin on the thinnest setting.  They will be almost transparent.  Slice the red beet last so that you don’t turn all the other veggies pink.  Place the red beet slices in the bowl with the small amount of dressing and toss.  Place the other veggies in the other bowl and toss them.  The whole point is to keep the red beet from turning everything neon pink.  If you are into that, or you are having a Barbie party, then by all means, skip the separating and toss the whole thing together.  Arrange the golden beets, turnips, and carrots on a serving plate.  Arrange the red beet slices in and among the other veggies.  Top with the green onions and orange zest, and a final sprinkling of salt and pepper. Chill until ready to serve.

 

 

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two children, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Healthier Options, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Shaved Root Vegetable Salad

  1. Kathy says:

    This is a beautiful salad! Maybe Santa will bring me a mandolin slicer!

  2. A Tablespoon of Liz says:

    This looks so good, I love the colors!

  3. Joanne says:

    I’m too scared to buy a mandoline LOL. I love all the colors!

  4. I think I’m getting a mandoline for Christmas. Anyway, this looks fantastic!

  5. this looks great! is the mandolin easy to use? i must admit, i’m a bit scared of mandolins.

Leave a comment