Cream of Fresh Tomato Soup

This is my adaptation of Ina Garten’s tomato soup recipe.  It’s simple, quick, and a must when the garden is overflowing with ripe tomatoes.

  • 2 T. olive oil
  • 1 C. white onion, chopped
  • 1 C. peeled chopped carrots
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 6 medium-sized tomatoes
  • 1 1/2 t. sugar
  • 1 T. tomato paste
  • 1/2 C. fresh basil, plus more for garnish
  • 3 C. chicken stock
  • 2 t. Kosher salt
  • 1 t. black pepper
  • 3/4 C. heavy cream
  • 6 slices of french bread
  • 6 slices of Swiss cheese

Heat the olive oil in a Dutch oven over medium heat.  Add the onions and carrots and saute for one minute.  Cover the pot and reduce the heat to medium-low.  Let the vegetables sweat for ten minutes.  Remove the lid and add the garlic.  Stir and cook for one minute.  Add the tomatoes, sugar, tomato paste, basil, chicken stock, salt and pepper.  Stir to combine and increase the heat to medium.  Simmer, uncovered, for about 30 minutes.  Add the cream.  Use a blender or immersion blender to puree the soup.  Keep the soup hot on a low temperature.  Heat the broiler.  Brush your french bread slices with a little olive oil and place a slice of cheese on each bread slice.  Place the bread and cheese on a baking sheet and broil until the bread is toasted and the cheese is melted and bubbly, about two minutes.  Serve the soup with the toast floating on top and a little fresh basil garnish.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cream of Fresh Tomato Soup

  1. The floating toast makes me really want that! I mean the soup is creamy and rich too, but that’s just the kicker.

  2. The kids really enjoyed the toast too- even my toddler was dunking it in his soup and slurping away:)

  3. Harley says:

    One of my favorites — and I normally hate tomato soup!

Leave a Reply

