Risotto with Yak Italian Sausage and Peas

I used yak sausage for this recipe.  I know, it sounds strange. I have really made a committment to buying only local meat.  I have been for about a year now.  What this means is my selection is limited, so when I go to the farmer’s market and the Italian sausage is made from yak, I can either give yak a chance or go without the sausage.  I had my heart set on this risotto, so I gave yak a chance, and it was great!  I am no dummy, however.  I didn’t tell my family what it was until after they ate and enjoyed it.  You can of course substitute any sausage that you enjoy.  P.S. the yak tasted a lot like grass fed beef.

  • 1 T. olive oil
  • 1 lb. Italian sausage
  • 1 T. butter
  • 1/2 onion, minced
  • 1 1/2 C. arborio rice
  • 3/4 C. white wine
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • salt and pepper
  • 4-6 C. chicken stock
  • 1 C. frozen peas, thawed
  • 1/2 C. freshly grated parmesan, plus more for topping
  • 1/2 C. fresh basil, chopped

Heat the olive oil in a large skillet and fry the italian sausage until it is browned and cooked through.  Remove the sausage to a plate and remove all but 1 t. or so of the fat left in the pan.  In a separate saucepan, heat your chicken stock to a simmer.  Heat the first pan to medium and melt the butter with the oil from the sausage.  Add the onion and cook until softened, about 5 minutes.  Add the rice and stir to coat in the butter and onions.  Cook for about 1 minute.  Add the wine and stir to combine.  Let it bubble and become absorbed by the rice.  Begin adding the hot chicken stock a ladleful at a time, stirring it in to the rice and allowing it to become absorbed.  Continue adding stock as each ladleful becomes absorbed.  Continue stirring and adding stock until the rice is al dente the mixture is creamy and oozing.  This process takes about 20 minutes.  You do not want the risotto to become stiff and lumpy.  You want it to be liquid enough that it spreads out if you scoop it onto a plate.  If it’s too stiff add a little more broth.  Add the cooked sausage and the peas and stir until heated through.  Stir in the cheese, top with the fresh basil, and serve hot!  Put more cheese on the table for topping.

 

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Italian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Risotto with Yak Italian Sausage and Peas

  1. Isn’t that a song, Give Yak A Chance? I’m with you, going without sausage, not an option. I love the look of your risotto, so creamy.

Leave a Reply

