Making Cheese

This is my first attempt at making cheese, and I think I’m hooked.  My friend Brennan gave me a little cheese making kit as a gift.  Turns out making cheese is pretty simple!

  • 1 half-gallon whole milk, not ultra pasteurized
  • 1 t. citric acid (find it in the health food/vitamin section)
  • salt
  • fresh or dry herbs

Heat the milk slowly up to 185 degrees until it’s foamy and steaming, but not boiling.

    

Add the citric acid and stir until curds form- about one minute.  Set a fine mesh sieve in the sink and pour the curds into it- the whey is the liquid that will pour down the drain.  Now you know what Miss Muffit was eating.  Let the curds drain in the sieve for about an hour.

    

Pour the curds into a bowl and add your seasonings.  After salting it, I divided mine up into three bowls.  One I left plain, one I added one minced basil leaf, and to the third I added a pinch of dried Herbes de Provence.  Mix the curds gently with your fingertips to incorporate the herbs.  Place the seasoned curds into a flat-bottomed paper coffee filter and twist the filter at the top to create a little package.  Let the package rest on a paper towel and weight it with a plate for another half an hour or so.  The cheese will firm up even more in the fridge and take on the consistency of a semi-soft cheese similar to mozzarella.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Making Cheese

  1. Grandma Karen says:

    Tom said Harley must have been thrilled. Sounds wonderful!

  2. Kathy says:

    I can’t wait to try this! It must be like Mexican queso fresco, no?

  3. I still haven’t tried this. Glad you were successful. Looks good!

  4. We made cheese once at culinary school and it was so much fun. I’ve never gotten around to making it on my own but this is inspiring me to do so!

  5. Amazing, thanks for sharing! I only made yogurt cheese the other day (labne) and now I’m hooked! This recipe looks so simple too! Love how you can customise it to your own liking with herbs.

  6. Pingback: Homemade Ricotta | swellkid

Leave a Reply

