Blackberry Pina Colada

Coco Lopez.  It’s that cream of coconut that comes in the can with the cartoon toucan on it.  I was grocery shopping and came across Coco Lopez in the aisle with the cocktail mixers and club soda.  The recipe for pina colada was printed on the can, so I grabbed it, along with pineapple juice and headed home to make a batch.  I realized that I needed to somehow make it my own, so in went the blackberries.  This is a delicious take on a pina colada.  The blackberries give it a little bit of a tartness that helps to balance out the super-sweet coconut. Serves 4

  • 1/2 C. Coco Lopez cream of coconut (stir well)
  • 1/2 C. white rum, I used Bacardi
  • 6 oz. pineapple juice
  • 3 C. ice
  • 1/2 C. fresh blackberries

Combine all the ingredients in a blender and blend until completely smooth.  Serve in chilled glasses with blackberries for garnish.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Drinks and Cocktails and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Blackberry Pina Colada

  1. Grandma Karen says:

    Sounds refreshing! Had. Blackberry martini at Bonefish the other day. Was that ever tasty!

  2. This sounds absolutely delightful.

  3. Jim Cox says:

    Carrie,

    What I want to know is did you pick this up at the grocery while shopping for additional ingredients for the seven minute frosting for your fabulous looking rainbow chiffon cake. LOL……We made the summer berry cake for company on Sat. and it was wonderful. Looking for another excuse to make it again. Keep up the good work.

    J & C

Leave a Reply

