Fresh Tomato Pesto

When the tomatoes are ripe and get that intense flavor of summer I love to come up with different uses for them.  This is an uncooked sauce that can be tossed with any type of pasta.  We used it for spaghetti.  It has a brightness from the fresh tomatoes and basil and a rich nuttiness from the walnuts.  Great for all ages!

  • 3/4 C. basil leaves, plus more for garnish
  • 1/8 C. olive oil
  • 2 T. parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 C. walnuts
  • 4-5 small, ripe tomatoes, I used plum tomatoes
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1/2 t. salt

Combine all ingredients in the food processor and pulse until smooth.  Cook 1 lb. of pasta according to the package directions.  Toss the pesto with the hot pasta and serve with more cheese and chopped basil.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Italian, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fresh Tomato Pesto

  1. That sounds so simple and great too. Our tomatoes are gone, but we’re still getting some from the farmers market.

  2. Chris macca says:

    We will definitely try this if our tomatoes ever get ripe. I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

