Marinated Tuna Skewers

My parents came home with some fresh tuna from the beach.  Tuna is a firm, meaty fish that lends itself to bold flavors.  This marinade is adapted from the magazine La Cucina Italiana.  Their version calls for plain yogurt- which I didn’t have on hand, so I substituted buttermilk.  The results were delectable!  Try this one, you will love it!

  • 1 1/2 lbs. tuna loin, cut into large bite sized chunks
  • 1/2 C. buttermilk
  • 3 T. basil leaves, sliced thinly
  • 1 t. soy sauce
  • 1 t. Dijon mustard
  • salt and pepper
  • oil for the grill

In a shallow dish, combine the tuna chunks, buttermilk, basil, soy sauce, and mustard.  Cover and marinate for 30 minutes at room temperature.  Thread the chunks onto 8 skewers.  Heat the grill or grill pan to medium-high heat.  Season the skewers with salt and pepper.  Oil the grill rack or pan lightly.  Grill 4-5 minutes, turning frequently.

 

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Healthier Options, Italian, Quick Dinners, Seafood and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marinated Tuna Skewers

  1. I love that magazine and haven’t read it in ages! Fish from the ocean, sounds and looks wonderful.

  2. Chris macca says:

    We are trying this recipe tonight with more tuna. Can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

