Grapesickle

Frozen grapes are so delicious!  They take on an almost sorbet-like texture after an hour or two in the freezer.  The skewers were inspired by another blogger, rosemarried.  When I saw them I knew it had to be the garnish for an icy, summery cocktail.

  • purple grapes
  • 2 oz. vodka
  • 4 oz. 100% grape juice
  • squeeze of lime
  • 1 oz. club soda

 

First make your grape skewers by threading grapes on a skewer and freezing for at least one hour.  Fill a cocktail shaker with ice.  Pour in the vodka, grape juice, and lime and shake well.  Pour into a chilled cocktail glass and top with club soda. Place a frozen grape skewer in the glass.  One further benefit to the frozen grapes: they keep the drink nice and cold!

 

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Drinks and Cocktails and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Grapesickle

  1. Katherine’s going to love this one. She wanted to make a PB&J martini this weekend and well, how many words are there for disaster? She saw the idea on Facebook. Anyway, love the grape skewer and the recipe.

  2. Leanne says:

    Hi Carrie. I’m Brennan’s friend from Atlanta. She turned me on to your blog and I can’t wait to try some of the fabulous recipes. I have a great martini that would go great with your frozen grapes…which I love bty….equal parts stoli razz or blueberry and frangelico and shaken with an ounce and half grape juice. Tastes just like an adult pbj! Can’t wait to see upcoming recipes. Leanne

    • Carrie says:

      Hey Leanne! Thanks for reading and subscribing, and for the great cocktail recipe! Sorry I didn’t get to meet you this time- have a safe trip!

Leave a Reply

