Italian Pork Loin

A dry spice rub gives this pork loin a savory and succulent flavor.  I used a 2 1/2 lb. pork loin roast from Deck Family Farms that I picked up at the Woodstock Farmer’s Market.

  • 2-3 lb. pork loin roast or 2 tenderloins
  • 1 t. garlic powder
  • 1 t. paprika, not smoked
  • 1 t. fennel seeds
  • 1 t. dried oregano
  • 1-2 t. Kosher salt
  • 1 t. black pepper
  • fresh basil or oregano for garnish

Combine the garlic powder, paprika, fennel seeds, salt, and pepper in a small bowl.  Rub the roast all over with the spice rub.  Give it a good massage- not Swedish, just a rubdown.  Cover and refrigerate for two hours or overnight.  Heat the oven to 400 degrees.  Place the roast in a roasting pan or glass dish.  Roast for 20-25 minutes.  Tent with foil and let rest for 10 minutes before slicing.  Sprinkle fresh basil or oregano over the top.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Holidays and Special Occasions, Italian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Italian Pork Loin

  1. That looks fabulous and I bet you could really tell the difference in the quality of the meat.

    • Carrie says:

      I’ve been pretty committed to buying local, free range meat for the last year or so. The cost is much higher, but the quality is infinitely better and I’m supporting the local economy at the same time. It’s a win-win. I haven’t bought meat at the grocery store since I watched Food Inc. two years ago.

Leave a Reply

