Spaghetti alla Carbonara

This is what I make when I don’t feel like cooking.  I almost always have everything on hand to make this without going to the store.  I’ve posted another version of this dish before, but this one is more simple and straightforward.  The cream in this dish is not traditional, but makes for a more substantial sauce.  If you want real authenticity, leave out the cream and enjoy a thinner sauce. This comes together very quickly.  You need to have the ingredients all ready as the pasta is cooking and toss it together right when the pasta comes out of the pot.  If this worries you, prep the ingredients (cook the bacon, whisk the eggs) and then cook the pasta.

  • 1 lb. spaghetti
  • 1/2 lb. bacon or pancetta
  • 1/4 C. white wine
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 C. grated parmesan, plus more for serving
  • 1/2 C. heavy cream
  • 1/2 t. cracked black pepper
  • salt
  • 1/4 C. fresh parsley, chopped

Bring a large pot of water to a boil and cook the spaghetti according to package directions.  Meanwhile, fry the bacon in a skillet over medium-high heat.  Remove the bacon to a cutting board when it’s golden and crispy and chop it up. Remove all but about 1 t. of bacon grease from the skillet and add the white wine.  Let the wine bubble up for about 1 minute and remove the pan from the heat.  In a bowl, whisk the eggs, cheese, cream, and pepper together.  When the pasta is cooked, scoop out about 1/2 C. of pasta water and set aside.  Quickly drain the pasta, and immediately pour in the egg mixture.  The hot pasta will cook the eggs as you stir and toss.  Pour in the white wine from the skillet and toss to combine.  If the sauce is too thick, use some of the pasta water to thin it.  Taste for seasoning and add the parsley.  Serve with more parmesan to taste.

 

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a 1st grade teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Italian, Quick Dinners and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Spaghetti alla Carbonara

  1. That looks just wonderful. I love pasta for quick meals. You never feel cheated!

  2. Grandma Karen says:

    Sounds wonderful!

  3. Libby says:

    I had some fresh lemon pepper linguine in the refrigerator, so I used that….yummy! I must admit, though, that Randy and Nolan used it, because I twisted my ankle and had to coach my boys while laid up with an ice pack from the kitchen table. They did a fabulous job!

Leave a Reply

