Buffalo Kafta Skewers

I’ve had a couple of people ask me recently about buying meat and fish at the farmer’s market.  There is some question about whether it’s as safe as meat that you might find at the supermarket.  I am not an expert, so I can’t say that it’s safer or better.  What I can say is that I love being able to meet the farmer or someone directly related to the farm.  They can tell me exactly where the animal was raised and how fresh it is.  The farms are all local, so I’m helping the local economy by buying their products as well as reducing carbon emissions by keeping the product closer to home and not shipping it.  The farms have to have the proper licensing and inspections so I know they are as safe and clean as any meat packing plant.  If you haven’t bought meat at the farmer’s market before I really encourage you to try it out.

On my last trip to the farmers market I bought a pound of ground buffalo intending to make burgers.  I forgot to buy the buns.  I remembered having kafta at a Lebanese restaurant and decided to try it with buffalo instead of ground beef.  Kafta is a ground meat and spice mixture that is cooked on a skewer.  Delicious!  The quick cooking time kept the lean buffalo meat from drying out.

  • 1 lb. ground buffalo or other ground meat
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 1/2 t. pepper
  • 1 t. cumin
  • 2 T. minced fresh parsley
  • 2 T. minced fresh mint
  • 1/2 t. garam masala
  • 1 pinch allspice
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 C. minced onion

For the sauce:

  • 1/2 C. sour cream
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 T. fresh mint
  • 1/2 t. cumin

Heat the broiler to high, 500 degrees.  In a bowl, combine the ground meat, salt, pepper, cumin, parsley, mint, garam masala, allspice, and egg.  Mix together well, as though you are making meatloaf or meatballs.  Divide the meat mixture into four balls.  Form the meat with your hands onto four skewers into a log shape.  Place the skewers on a baking sheet.  Broil on the top rack for five minutes.  Flip them over and broil for four more minutes.  Meanwhile, combine the sour cream with the salt, mint, and cumin.  Serve the kafta with the sauce and some hummus and grilled flatbread.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Healthier Options, Quick Dinners and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Buffalo Kafta Skewers

  1. Sounds great! I can’t wait to pick up some bison. Bet this would be good with lamb too.

  2. how funny, i did the same thing today. big plans to make bison burgers tonight, but forgot the buns. so i baked some giant pasta shells w/ bison & veggies instead. next time, i’ll have to try out this kafta recipe.

Leave a Reply

