Brussel Sprouts Slaw

We eat a lot of barbecue at our house and I usually serve it with a cole slaw of some sort.  I wanted to try something new, so I decided to shred some brussel sprouts instead of cabbage.  My husband dislikes mayonnaise, so the dressing for this slaw is dairy free. The flavor of raw brussel sprouts is similar to green cabbage, but with a little more earthy flavor.

  • 8-10 large brussel sprouts, shredded
  • 1/4 C. lemon juice
  • 1 t. sugar
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 1 T. olive oil

Whisk the lemon juice, sugar, salt, and oil in a large bowl.  Add the shredded brussel sprouts.  Toss to combine.  Serve at room temperature or chill for an hour before serving.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Healthier Options, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Brussel Sprouts Slaw

  1. great idea for slaw. i like seasoning brussel sprouts with ground nutmeg.

  2. Carrah says:

    I made a brussel sprout slaw not too long ago but mixed it with shredded up chard as well and it was delicious! I’m going to try yours out soon. 🙂

  3. Kathy says:

    I would never have thought to use raw Brussels sprouts in anything! You are a genius.

Leave a Reply

