Roasted Tomatillo Salsa

We love the salsa verde at Laughing Planet.  I especially love it’s surprising ginger kick.  The ginger is a fragrant and mildly spicy addition to this salsa.  The grapes help to balance out the tartness of the tomatillos.  This is as close as I could get to their salsa verde.

  • 10 tomatillos, papery husks removed
  • 1/2 C. chopped, white onion
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1/2 C. fresh cilantro
  • 1/2 jalapeno pepper, seeded (leave them in if you like heat)
  • 7-10 sweet grapes
  • 1 inch piece of peeled ginger, chopped
  • 1/2 t. salt

Cut the tomatillos in half and place them on a baking sheet.  Broil them on the top rack of the oven for about 5-8 minutes, or until the skins begin to char.

Place the tomatillos in a food processor with the onion, lime juice, cilantro, jalapeno, ginger, grapes, and salt.  Process until fairly smooth.  Chill until ready to serve.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Healthier Options, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Roasted Tomatillo Salsa

  1. judy says:

    I see the tomatillos at the produce market, but have never bought any. They sort of scared me. I will give it a try!

Leave a Reply

