Bourbon Blondies with Maple Icing

The bourbon flavor really comes through in these tasty blondies.  This recipe is perfect for adapting.  Add chocolate chips.  Take out the walnuts.  Melt chocolate over the top instead of the maple icing.  The possibilities are endless.

  • 2 sticks margarine or butter, melted (I used Earth Balance Vegan Buttery Sticks)
  • 1 3/4 C. light brown sugar
  • 1/2 C. bourbon (I used Maker’s Mark)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 t. salt
  • 2 1/4 C. flour
  • 1/2 C. chopped walnuts
  • 1 C. powdered sugar
  • 1 t. maple extract
  • 2 T. water 3-4 T. water

Heat the oven to 350 degrees.  Melt the margarine and combine it with the brown sugar.  Beat in the bourbon, vanilla, and eggs.  Add the salt, flour and mix until the batter is smooth.  Stir in the walnuts.  Spread the batter into a greased 13 x 9 inch glass pan.  Bake for 20-25 minutes.  Mix the powdered sugar, maple extract, and enough water to make it smooth.  Pour over the hot blondies and spread with a spatula.  Cool at least 30 minutes before cutting.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bourbon Blondies with Maple Icing

  1. Ellen M. says:

    I think it should be four T. water for the icing or you can’t pour it.

    • Thanks for the tip Ellen! I’ll have to test it out again. I do remember that the icing gets really thin when you put it on the blondies hot out of the oven as suggested. Thanks again.

      • Ellen M. says:

        I made it yesterday and with only 2 tablespoons of water there was not enough liquid to dissolve all the sugar – with the extra water it was just enough to make it pourable/spreadable and to cover the blondies.

        Everyone loved the blondies, awesome recipe, thank you!!

      • Thank you Ellen, I’ll be sure to fix it! Glad you liked them.

Leave a Reply

