Flatbread Pizza Three Ways

Flatbread makes a great platform for quick pizza.  Remember those English Muffin pizzas we made when we were kids?  These flatbread pizzas are the modern version.  Top them with whatever you like.  I bought Trader Joe’s Middle Eastern flatbread.  You can buy pocketless pita or naan bread at any grocery store for the same effect.  To bake, heat oven to 400 degrees and bake about ten minutes, or until the cheese is melted and bubbling.  Here are a few ideas:

1. Classic Pepperoni

  • 1/2 C. plain tomato sauce, I use Hunts
  • 1/2 t. garlic powder
  • 1/2 t. dried oregano or basil
  • salt and pepper
  • 6 flatbread rounds
  • 1/2 C. mozzarella cheese, shredded
  • 18-24 slices of pepperoni

Combine the tomato sauce, garlic powder, oregano, salt and pepper and spread about 2 T. of the sauce mixture on each flatbread.  Sprinkle the cheese evenly over each flatbread.  Distribute the pepperoni among the flatbreads.  Sprinkle a little more cheese over the top.

2.  Bacon, Apple, and Cheddar

  • 6 slices of bacon, fried and chopped
  • 1/2 Granny Smith apple, sliced very thin
  • 1/2 C. sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 1 t. olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • 6 flatbread rounds

Brush each flatbread with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Distibute the bacon and cheese evenly over the flatbreads.  Top with 4-5 apple slices per pizza.

3.  Arugula and Chevre

  • 6 flatbread rounds
  • 1 C. arugula leaves
  • 6 large basil leaves
  • 3 T. chevre
  • salt and pepper
  • 3 t. olive oil

Brush each flatbread with olive oil.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Distribute the arugula and basil evenly among the flatbreads.  Dot the chevre on top.  Drizzle a little more olive oil over the top of each flatbread.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Healthier Options, Italian, Quick Dinners and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Flatbread Pizza Three Ways

  1. judy says:

    I will have one of each! yum!

  2. Harley says:

    Brilliant modern twist on an elementary school classic. Kids and foodies will both be happy.

  3. Kathy Minor says:

    Carrie, I hope you will be proud of me. I made dinner for the kids using all your meal suggestions with the Roasted Cauliflower recipe. I made Spicy Lentils with Basmati Rice, Vegan Whole Wheat Naan, hummus, the cauliflower and a spring greens salad with olive oil and red wine vinegar dressing. For dessert I made Indian Rice Pudding with almond milk and chopped almonds. Everything was a hit, expecially the lentils and cauliflower. Thank you for being an inspiration.

    • Carrie says:

      Yes, I am very proud! I so appreciate your support. Thanks! I’m glad the recipes are working well for you:) My vegetarian posts are usually the most popular- it’s making me look for more recipes. Keep me posted on what you’re making.

  4. Andrea R. says:

    We made these tonight — pepperoni for the kids (“This is the BEST thing I’ve ever eaten!!!) and Bacon/Apple for us. We used gouda instead of cheddar — YUM! I’m going to try the arugula and chevre for lunch tomorrow.

  5. Pingback: Help Me Decide What to Publish on Woman’s Day.com | swellkid

Leave a Reply

