Frozen Chocolate Mousse

Chocolate Mousse is my favorite dessert.  There is just something so luxurious about it.  This recipe comes from my mom.  She used to make this when we were kids in the 70’s when it was still ok to eat raw eggs.  I’ve been eating raw cookie dough for the last 30 years and I’ve never been sick from it.  Of course if the idea of the raw egg bothers you then you could use pasteurized eggs, or you could just skip this recipe!  This is so decadent and delicious, and takes about 5 minutes to make.  Sorry about the black and white photo- a little technical glitch.

  • 4 oz. unsweetened baking chocolate
  • 1 C. butter
  • 2 C. powdered sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 t. vanilla
  • 3/4 t. peppermint extract (optional)

In a bowl, melt the chocolate and butter in the microwave in 30 second increments.  Stir every 30 seconds and continue heating and stirring until the chocolate and butter are melted.  Pour the mixture into the food processor and process, adding the powered sugar 1/2 C. at a time.  Add the eggs, vanilla, and peppermint, and process until the mixture thickens and becomes almost fluffy.  This takes about three minutes.  Spoon the mixture into paper baking cups set on a cookie sheet.  Freeze until firm, about two hours.  Store in the freezer in a ziplock bag for up to one week.  They won’t last that long!

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Frozen Chocolate Mousse

  1. i love chocolate mousse, but have never tried freezing it into frozen mousse cups. what a fantastic idea — thanks for sharing!

  2. Amy Ballard says:

    Yum! What a great idea. I never would have though to freeze mousse. Now if only the temperature around here would increase……..;)

    • Carrie says:

      It’s actually really bad that I made them because I keep thinking about them in the freezer. There they are, just sitting in there, waiting…

  3. Kathy says:

    I remember making this with your mom. I think we called them truffle mints. Good memories of both making and eating them!

  4. Pingback: Mini Key Lime Cheesecakes | swellkid

  5. Pingback: Chocolate and Love, Love and Chocolate | swellkid

Leave a Reply

