Strawberry Coconut Sherbet

We bought berries today from a roadside stand- I know, I know, they’re from California, local berries aren’t ripe yet…. when your child yells “Stop!  Strawberries!” you just have to stop.  This sherbet is vegan and low-fat, and has a subtle flavor of coconut.

  • 2 C. strawberries, washed and sliced
  • 1/2 C. sugar
  • 1 1/2 C. water
  • 2 sprigs fresh mint
  • 1 14 oz. can light, unsweetened coconut milk

Place the sliced strawberries in a saucepan with the water, sugar, and mint.

Bring to a boil and cook for about two minutes, or until the berries begin to soften.  Remove from heat and allow the berries to come to room temperature.  Remove the mint from the pot and discard.  Pour in the coconut milk.  Puree the mixture in a blender or with an immersion blender.

You can strain it if you don’t like the strawberry seeds.  I didn’t strain mine, mostly just to save a step.  Place the mixture in the fridge until it is COLD.  At least two hours.  Pour into an ice cream maker and freeze for about 30 minutes.

The sherbet will be smooth and soft.  Spread it into a dish and place into the freezer for at least an hour before eating.

I just made this today, so I’m not sure how long it will keep in the freezer, but I have a hunch it will taste best in the first day or two.  We liked the texture better as it warmed up rather than right out of the freezer.

 

 

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Dessert, Healthier Options, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Strawberry Coconut Sherbet

  1. Grandma Karen says:

    What a beautiful color! Yum!

  2. looks delish! now only if i had an ice cream maker in my kitchen…

  3. Pingback: All Strawberries, All The Time | swellkid

Leave a Reply

