Kitchen Gallery

Here is a quick look at a new home project.  My son brings home artwork from school almost everyday.  I love to display his work, but my kitchen was beginning to look pretty messy with all the odd bits of paper taped to the walls.  I decided to create a gallery for his artwork that would allow for quick changes without looking temporary.  I found a few frames around the house and cleaned them up.  I took out the glass and any hardware or staples on the back were removed.  I spray painted them with an all purpose spray paint, three coats.  I used foam tape to hang them on the wall.  Voila!  Instant kitchen gallery.

 

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me with my Canon Digital Rebel XT. No filters or Photoshop, usually natural light on my kitchen table. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Kitchen Gallery

  1. Amy Ballard says:

    Those are awesome!

  2. Kristi Brown says:

    Fabulous idea! I could have used this one 10 years ago; however, these days we have graduated to producing artwork on full size canvas board. My idea for displaying these works is to paint black “frames” right on the wall and hang the canvas boards with foam tape in the middle of them. I’m thinking this might allow for changing out boards when new ones appear?

  3. Kathy says:

    Really great idea! This way you can let Henry help decide which pieces to display and which to rotate out. I still have a file drawer with kids’ artwork from 30 years ago. Some of it should have been framed, but I guess it’s never too late!

    • Thanks! He was really proud to see them up on the wall like that. You’re right, it’s never too late- pick out your favorites and frame them. You’ll smile every time you look at them:)

  4. Andrea R. says:

    What a great idea! I have kids’ art taped up all over my house…

  5. jill koehmstedt says:

    Cute idea! I love it!

Leave a Reply

