World’s Best Peanut Butter Cookies- Seriously

As we were devouring these cookies, we tossed around some different names.  My brother-in-law liked them so much he thought they should be called “Magical” peanut butter cookies.  I decided not to brag and just call them “World’s Best”  ♥

  • 1 1/2 sticks of salted butter, softened
  • 3/4 C. creamy Jif peanut butter
  • 1/2 C. sugar
  • 3/4 C. light brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 t. vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 2 C. flour
  • 1/2 t. baking soda
  • 1 bag of Reeses Peanut Butter Chips
  • Turbinado sugar, or other coarse sugar

A note about ingredients and method:  I listed the exact ingredients that I used- including brand names.  Of course you can substitute other brands.  Who knows?  Maybe your version will be Universe’s Best.  Also, most cookie recipes call for sifting or mixing the dry ingredients separately and then adding them to the wet ingredients.  I have never found this to be necessary.  I have always gotten fine results by creaming the butter, sugar, and eggs, and then adding the flour and soda to the same bowl.

In a standing mixer, cream the butter, peanut butter, sugar, brown sugar, and vanilla until light and fluffy- about 2 minutes.  Add the egg and mix until combined.  Add the flour and soda and mix just until combined.  Stir in the peanut butter chips.  The dough will be light and soft.  Divide the dough into two halves and flatten them into rounds.  Wrap it in plastic and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.  Heat the oven to 325 degrees.  Roll the dough into 1 1/2 inch balls.  Roll the balls in turbinado sugar and flatten with a fork.  Bake on parchment lined baking sheets for about 15 minutes.

The cookies won’t be completely set when you take them out of the oven.  You’ll think that they aren’t done.  If you bake these longer they will become hard and crunchy.  Removing them at 15 minutes will give you soft and chewy cookies.  The turbinado sugar will give them an irresistible crisp crunch.

About swellkid recipes

I am a mother of two boys, a wife, a teacher, and an avid home cook. These recipes are written, tested and created or adapted by me in my home kitchen. All photos were taken by me unless otherwise noted. My motto is, if I can do it, you can do it!
This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to World’s Best Peanut Butter Cookies- Seriously

  1. Amy Ballard says:

    THANK YOU!! I always felt like I was being lazy for not mixing all the dry ingredients first! Now I know I was just being efficient;)

  2. Kathy Minor says:

    I recognize those fingers!

  3. Sally says:

    excellent peanut butter cookie recipe!!!!

  4. Pingback: Help Me Decide What to Publish on Woman’s Day.com | swellkid

Leave a Reply

